Vertically moving robot

Hi Taylor and community,

I am a robotics and ML engineer. I somehow landed on this forum after watching Taylor’s video Starting a Business in Silicon Valley: A Personal Story. There are interesting discussions on the making a rover and the VESC. This seems like the right place to have discussions on interesting robotics problems. I have been thinking about a problem and I wanted some help with it. I am not sure if this is the right place to ask. Forgive me if this isn’t.

I want to build a 4WD robot that can travel vertically by pushing against opposite rails. The wheels push against the rails and generate friction, the robot moves upwards as the wheels rotate. This is the side view that I am thinking of:

FullSizeRender

If one side moves faster than the other then the robot would loose grip and fall down. I have to ensure that the wheels on both sides rotate at the exact same speed. How to maintain the same speed on both sides?

1 Like

You could do it with encoders of course as an open-loop solution. But if you know you’re moving perfectly vertically, consider using an accelerometer to sense (gravitational) orientation. If the robot starts to tilt, the high side can just slow/stop until the robot is level again.

1 Like

As a complete amateur I’m wondering why not a gyroscope rather than an accelerometer?

I assume the idea is to keep the wheels planar.

Can you explain how a gyroscope would serve the purpose in this case? I am an amateur in this field as well.

Rather than trying to answer your question sufficiently let me instead offer you these:

A paper about a robot that uses a gyroscope and some of the challenges from 3 years ago:
Self-calibration of a differential wheeled robot using only a gyroscope and a distance sensor

This does a pretty good job of providing answers to our questions:
What is a gyroscope in robotics and how does it help the robot maintain balance